Daily Stoic | It is my Opinion that fuels my Anger.

Nobody has the power to make me feel angry.

That is what a Stoic must always remind himself. That in each every person, lie a power so great that nothing from the external could truly break with out the person’s consent.

Epictetus reminds me:

“Keep in mind that it isn’t the one who has it in for you and takes a swipe that harms you, but rather the harm comes from your own belief about the abuse.”

— EPICTETUS

Why do I feel angry at remarks made by other people?

Epictetus says that it’s really because I value the content of the remark rather than consider it’s validity or invalidity. If someone says I’m incompetent, how do I think? If I get angry, is it because it’s true? If it’s true, will getting angry make me competent? If it’s not true, why should I get angry?

The logic is simple.

It may be hard for a lot of people to grasp this concept, because embracing the passion is easier. Just let it all out, and deal with the consequences after. But a Stoic thinks differently, a Stoic does not let his passions get the best of him.

So the next time, someone says something about me, I know what I have to think.

Leave a Reply

