Daily Stoic | I will not be driven by Anger

A common stoic mantra: “Anger almost never solves anything”.

What happens when I’m angry? I become extremely motivated, to prove someone wrong, to make others see things my way. When I’m angry, I could summon so much energy that I could accomplish so much. But does that mean that I should be angry all the time?

Today’s reflection is all about that. Anger can drive people to do almost anything positive in their life, but it isn’t really the best fuel for your desires, in fact, it’s a terrible fuel.

 

Anger can bring out so much in a person, but anger is a fuel that burns too fast that one needs to keep feeding it more to sustain the desire. But like anything, exhaustion will kick in, and later down the road, you are feeding the desire with pieces of yourself.

That’s how anger works.

And I have been angry so many times in my life. With my family, friends, and peers. Anger has caused me to make so many bad decisions, so many poor calls, that I’m having difficulty fixing them until now. I regret the times I got angry, because instead of solving problems, it created more.

So I’m trying to be less angry, and maybe later down the road, anger would just be an emotion I experience and let pass without even affecting how I think about the day.

What I do when I’m angry lately is just try to diffuse it as quick as possible. When I get angry, I think about how I shouldn’t be, I rationalize and just let it go. One thing I make I sure I don’t do is repress the emotion, sometimes it could happen that instead of letting go, I’m keeping it locked away, letting it burn inside and ruining my peace of mind.

So I let anger go.

“There is no more stupefying thing than anger, nothing more bent on its own strength. If successful, none more arrogant, if foiled, none more insane—since it’s not driven back by weariness even in defeat, when fortune removes its adversary it turns its teeth on itself.”

— SENECA

Leave a Reply

