Daily Stoic | The Purpose of Mentors

Yesterday’s reflection was about Stoic Training, what are the things a Stoic does? As I have said, being a Stoic is straightforward. But sometimes despite having the manual of “how to”, the learning process can still be tricky. Thus a teacher.

“Take a good hard look at people’s ruling principle, especially of the wise, what they run away from and what they seek out.”

— MARCUS AURELIUS, MEDITATIONS , 4.38

And I’ve ever really had one mentor that I respect, because he was, as far as I was concerned, the man I wanted to be. Charismatic, confident, witty. In some ways, I did achieve to be just like him later in my life. But with transitions coming in my life, I am really at a lost.

Who is the Wise Man I wish to aspire to now?


Today’s reflection is fairly short, because I am at a lot as to who I could consider as a mentor. Personally, there very few people who I can engage with and teach me what i want to know, because in the great scheme of things, there are very few Stoics in society (self declared or otherwise).

People are so emotional these days, allowing their passions to take over, becoming intolerant over ideologies that don’t conform to their own. PC vs Console, DC vs Marvel, Democrats vs Republicans just to name a few.

In some cases, these divides are even pointless and completely undeserving of one’s attention. But with the hordes of people who are so passionate about their hobbies or ideologies is making it hard to find a right mentor.

Personally, my mentors are alive in the books I’m reading, and that’s the best I can work with now.

Leave a Reply

