Thoughts | The Price of an Aston Martin

Let’s get things straight: when I get to Finland, I will not be like the typical expat/immigrant who earns to live.

That would be extremely depressing, because I know the lives of people like that. The typical Filipino Overseas Worker lives terribly in a foreign country trying to make each pay check work so that enough money can be sent back to the Philippines. And when they get back here, they live like kings and spend their hard earned cash because the value just got multiplied 50 times.

The minimum wage in Europe is around 1 700€ net, and the current exchange rate to ₱83,000. The average income is roughly 16 to 20,000₱, so having 4 times that makes the common Pinoy feel super rich when they get back home. But reality will set in, and he/she will spend another year in a difficult job just so that he or she can have a life of luxury for 1 to 2 months later.

But that is the Filipino dream. We have a saying called “abutin ang ginhawa ng buhay sa sipag at tiyaga“. It means that one should aim for a comfortable life by working hard and diligently (not direct translation). And that is a fallacy.

The Filipino way of thinking is a trap that leads to a life that I have witnessed all to often in my young and short life as an adult so far. What was taught to me since I was a child, was that I should study hard, get a job, climb the ranks and earn my way to a comfortable life. That was the model of success in my parent’s younger days, but as I look at the state of our lives now, I think there is something wrong with that ideology.

My parent’s are in the terminal stage of their working careers, my father is retired and my mom has a few years before she says goodbye to working full time in a company as well. And it was during the past year that I realized how many mistakes they have made between earning their first pay check and now that they are about to earn their last.

And that is: YOU CANNOT EARN YOUR WAY TO A COMFORTABLE LIFE.

It’s just a lie, something that companies (probably) fabricated so that the workforce will settle with their middle income lives for 20 to 40 years. I’ve read this from Robert Kiyosaki’s Rich Dad Poor Dad (a terrible finance book filled with clichés but has some universally good points on money), it mentioned how “earning your way to rich is impossible”.

I’ve worked for 4 years as an instructor at my university, I was earning so much more than the rest of my friends at half the time (I worked for 4 to 6 hours a day for 4 to 5 days a week). And although I lived the “comfortable life”, I was living it pay check to pay check.

Although I had my savings, I was no where near the “Do what you love” territory, because I was still bound by someone else’s rules, I was doing what other people needed, I wasn’t in total control of my own life completely. Sure I could just keep working for 20 years and I can “retire”, but how many retirees can say they lived a worthwhile life.

I don’t plan to start living at age 60.

This is why I got to thinking about what are my benchmarks for when my life does begin. So I began looking at things I like but don’t need.

I began googling “Aston Martin maksaa Suomessa” or Aston Martin cost in Finland. This may not be how Finnish people Google, but this led me to pages where luxury cars are sold. And apparently the cheapest Aston Martin is worth 200 000€.

So, if I earn 1 700€ a month and I don’t spend 1 000€, I can have my own Aston Martin in 200 years.

The question I rolled in my head is: “How can I shorten 200 years to within my lifetime?”, and this led me to obsessing more and more to earning money outside the normal pay check. There are investing, there are day trading, and I have been trying to learn more and more to properly equip myself to actually condense 200 years into 5 or 10 years.

Is it possible?

I can’t say. Probably not, but my head is only thinking about the price of an Aston Martin. That’s my first goal, have enough to get myself an Aston Martin.

Leave a Reply

