Journal | Compound Interest

CHALLENGE PROGRESS
Read [ 1 / 8 ] Books by October 1, 2016  ~ 12.5 %
Lose [ 0 / 10 ] Kilos Body Weight by October. 15, 2016  ~ 0%

10:06 | Finished one book in day! What’s up with that? Though to be fair, it was a pretty small book: Compiled Stories Shadows Over Innistrad, but it was a great read none the less. I’ve talked about the Magic the Gathering stories, and it has one of the best lore in current fiction right now. The world is so varied, and the characters may be a little cliche, but are remarkably interesting.

But anyway, that’s one book down. 7 to go!

21:38 | Einstein is attributed to a quote (though never actually proven) that: “Compound Interest is the most powerful force in the Universe”. But why? Compound interest by my understanding is where you re invest your earnings to increase your capital for each succeeding term. I guess there are a lot of other articles out there that could tell more about that, but for me, banking on your growth to increase profits in long term may just apply to life as well.

I had this thought while meditating on my achievement of doing 1,000 pushups in one month. And after not doing any yesterday, I began thinking: “what’s the point if I won’t follow through on it?”.

Shouldn’t I bank on that achievement so that I could proceed to actually do more?

Thus compound interest, where instead of reaping the results after accomplishing something, I grow on that success and continue upward. So even though I managed to do 1,000 pushups, I shouldn’t stop there. I should keep doing pushups and improve my pushups as well.

There are a lot of pushup variations, and I think it would be best if I actually try to achieve all of them, so that’s what I’m going to do.

Next goal: DO 20 PUSH UPS IN A ROW.

No deadline this time, just be able to do 20 first, then 30, and maybe later in life I’ll be able to do 100. But for now, let’s start small and do 20. I’m having a hard time breaking 15, so let’s see where we can go with this!

Leave a Reply

