Journal | Combating DOMS

CHALLENGE PROGRESS
Do [ 580 / 1,000 ] Pushup by Sept. 1, 2016  ~ 58% | Today: 30
Exercise Streak : 3 Day, Mountain Climber Circuit
Lose [ 0 / 10 ] Kilos Body Weight by October. 15, 2016  ~ 0%

23:04 | DOMS, I REALLY HATE DOMS! Delayed Onset of Muscle Soreness is a bitch, and it’s one of those streak breakers that prevent you from doing any progress because of how painful muscle groups are because of a previous workout. This usually happens only when you are just starting back up your workout engines, and the muscles haven’t adapted to the routine just yet.

And one reason why people don’t follow through because of the 2 to 3 days that you can’t move any of your muscles. But what I’ve discovered is that only way to get rid of DOMS is to follow one simple rule:

POWER THROUGH THE PAIN AND KEEP WORKING OUT.

The common advice is to take a break from working out when experiencing DOMS, but this isn’t really accurate. I read an article/watched a video in BodyBuilding.com that said, working out while DOMS is active would actually promote growth and speed up recovery. And I’ve stucked to this principle, despite me not able to find the article again, and I’ve recovered almost immediately the day after.

So today, even though my everything hurts like hell, I have to do the workout, and hydrate to make sure that I actually recover. And I’m going to stick to my routine, which is nice.

Leave a Reply

