Journal | Stepping up the Game!

CHALLENGE PROGRESS
Do [ 420 / 1,000 ] Pushup by Sept. 1, 2016  ~ 42% | Today: 40
Lose [ 0 / 10 ] Kilos Body Weight by October. 15, 2016  ~ 0%

16:31 | LET’S ADD A NEW CHALLENGE TO MY EXISTING ONE, because I think I’m ready for it. By October 15, 2016, I would have lost 10 kilograms of body weight. That’s going to be interesting, considering that my body weight has only increased each year for that past few years, but I think I have the motivation to follow through this time.

I’ve been able to keep track of my certain habits, and I think I can revive an old one which is working out. And this is all in preparations for me doing, and actually finishing the Kris Gethin Hardcore TrainerI’ve started it in 2011, and I managed to follow Kris up to Week 4, until I redirected because I got ahead of myself and thought I could actually do better.

Kris Gethin

This time, no mistakes. Be humble, follow those who know better, and do your best!

17:39 | THERE’S A REASON I LOVE SCRUBS, it’s that show that made me appreciate health care even more while I was in Nursing School. This was during a time, before the politics of Medical Practitioner ruined my perceptions of Doctors all together, when I wanted to really pursue a career in medicine. The show dealt with everyday problems, that stressed out students like me faced at school and in the hospital when we would care for patients.

I’m getting back into it now that I’m trying to turn my life around, and I could really use the motivation life gets me down.

So, yeah. I’m watching a couple episodes of Scrubs after my workout, and I have to say I miss this show so much. There’s a lot that I could use to boost myself up.

19:55 | I TALKED ABOUT BUILDING a routine a few posts back. But I never really got a rhythm going. I’m stuck with old habits that won’t go away, like watching Youtube before I sleep, or spending 4 hours every morning playing games. The boredom is just overwhelming, like I can’t find anything to engage me anymore. There are times today, when I would just stare at my monitor and not be engaged to do anything. I don’t want to play games, I don’t want to watch videos, but I wanted to do something.

And I guess this is a good introduction to the ‘Ikigai Project’ that I’ve been talking about in my blog for a while now.

IKIGAI is basically a mantra of living, that states your purpose for living falls down to the harmony between four aspects: What You Love, What You are Good At, What the World Needs, and What you Can be Paid for. The combinations of these aspects would determine your Vocation, Mission, Profession & Passion, where the overlap between all of them is your Purpose for living, or your Ikigai.

And so the ‘Ikigai Project’ is basically that, my quest to achieving IKIGAI. And my first task is this:


Discover ‘What I Love’

Explore myself and dig up from past experiences the things that you love.

  • Reflect on the times you felt alive. Identify what are the circumstances revolving around them.
  • Reflect on the things you loved doing before responsibility took over.
  • Reflect on your beliefs, what do you stand for? What are your most important principles?

And it’s actually pretty difficult to pin this down, I keep thinking about the last time I felt excited to get up every morning, and it was the four years I spent teaching. I was so excited to start class, to engage with students, to pass on to them what I know.

But I was also excited when I was freelancing as statistical consultant, the research problems always intrigued me, and I would spend hours figuring out how to best tackle a certain question, which statistical model to use, interpreting them. And I always felt so fulfilled when I actually arrive at a solution.

Playing games never really gave me that same feeling, they always felt like something in the interim, what I would do in between the challenges that kept me in focus. And I think that’s why I can’t seem to be satisfied with games anymore. Because I need real problems to solve, real people to engage with.

And as I write this, I think I’m on the right track. And I feel like I know what to do now, but I have to write these down because I just might have cracked down on my problem.

Leave a Reply

