The Battle Against Writer’s Block

I have a story in my head, I think it’s an awesome story, and when I finish writing it I have a good feeling it would become a best-seller.

You know that feeling right? When one good idea appears in your head, and all you need to do is write it out. But suddenly, as you get to writing, the juices run out and not long you are stuck with a few paragraphs and you don’t know how to proceed. You wrote how the story started, you know what you will write in the end, but why can’t you flesh out the middle?

I don’t know about most writers, but that’s my writer’s block.

I was just 13 years old when I finished my first novel, it was about a group of supernatural warriors duking out in a fantasy dark city where the impending battle would either result in or prevent the return of the gods to their world. It was a great story (poorly written though).

After that, I had multiple ideas for a novel, I had a gist but each time I start writing, the build up falls apart.

  • What happens next?
  • What does he do?
  • Why did that happen?

I could put together the different parts of the story and I often give up all together. For my current project, the problem persists. After 4 pages of back-to-back yellow pads, I can’t get past the first chapter.

I’ve been rewriting CHAPTER 1 for a while now, and I really can’t build a decent plot right now, and that makes me pissed.

Leave a Reply

