15.01 Challenge Update #14

High Intensity Interval Training. How hard could that be?

So yeah, after doing 2 weeks of 30 minute steady paced cardio, I thought it was time to switch things up a bit with what some friends recommended as a level up workout. It’s called High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT) and it’s a concept I dangled to my face a few times in the past few years but never really gave real attention to. I always thought that longer intervals between high & low paced cardio worked best for building muscle, and I found that to be true. But for weight loss (which is my case currently), HIIT seems to be the best choice since I don’t plan on hitting the iron strong until a few more weeks when my knees can actually properly support my bodyweight.

So HIIT is all about high pace taking up majority of your cardio while the low pace takes backstage. For example, do cardio for 1 minute straight at a high pace then switch to 30 second low pace with no rest in between for a set duration (usually 10-15 minutes) and obviously it takes up less time than 45-60 minutes of steady paced cardio which is the norm. And being cocky, I gave this a go only to fail miserably at the end.

The cardio was “Tier Squats”, which is squats done at varying leg separation at fast intervals. It’s like sitting up & down rapidly with no chair while shifting your center of gravity as you proceed. I do Tier Squats regularly, but doing HIIT Tier Squats is another story. I wanted to go a full 10 minutes but only ended up doing 7 before my lower back and lungs gave out.

So lesson, take HIIT moderately, no need to rush, I should just do two 5 minute sessions each day and work my way up to 10 & 15.

6 thoughts on “15.01 Challenge Update #14

  1. You may want to stick to steady state cardio if your body is being finicky. Yes, HIIT burns more calories in the short term but recovery is more difficult, you’re more prone to injury, and the post-work-out-burn that everyone brags about only amounts to about 40-50 calories.

    You could do 10 minutes of HIIT or 30 minutes of uphill walking. Personally I’d choose the latter, and so do most bodybuilders.

      1. I used to do it a lot, and I’m slowly adding it back in since I gained a bunch of weight. Mainly for endurance rather than calorie burn.

        Haters gonna hate but if you top out often and recover properly: even if you don’t get stronger your pain tolerance increases.

      2. That is true. But i dont have haters sadly, the company gym where i go to is always empty. Which is sad, considering the employee roster is around 15,000.

Leave a Reply

