My Library | Ocean at the End of the Lane – Neil Gaiman

ocean“Adult stories never made sense, they were slow to start”

Gaiman stories are timeless, I’ve said this before. I imagine myself 90 years old and still reading his books. And with Ocean at the end of the Lane, I imagine myself 90 years old and turning into a kid again.

I have read a lot of books, but not enough to get me thinking about my state of mind as an adult, and cherish the perspective I had as a kid. ‘The Ocean at the End of the Lane’ is definitely one of my favorites Gaiman Novels, and in the top list of my best fiction stories of all time.

As I completed the book today, I got inspired to finish a draft and publish it today as well. You can read the essay here: [You Literally had Superpowers (Really!)]

Gist:
A man returns to the place he grew up in and explores a journey back into his childhood, reminiscing the world we lived in as children but lost as we grew up.

Why you should read it:
A lot of books will make you think, some would make you feel, but rarely would you find one that makes you question your reality. Ocean has left me wondering about myself, how the things I imagined as a child may actually be real. Because upon closing the last page, I was just floating my mind around and the memories of my childhood flooded back to me. Is growing really that desensitizing to our imaginations? I talked about the dangers of the mundane after I read this book, and I was afraid of who I was becoming, how I’m abandoning all the good things from my youth.

I’m out listening to 100 Years by Five for Fighting as I think about the impact this book has on me. Extremely HIGH recommendation, a must read for fantasy book-junkies.

Leave a Reply

