My Library | The Silver Linings Playbook – Matthew Quick

The Silver Linings Playbook Cover“Yes, I really do believe in silver linings, mostly because I’ve been seeing them almost every day when I emerge from the basement…”

I was graduating college when I read my first love story, it was the time when Nicholas Sparks just a few years after the release of a book called ‘Dear John’, the movie starring Channing Tatum was attracting all the college girls to the cinema. And I got caught up in the hype of it all, but just like Harry Potter films, I will never watch a book-based movie without reading the book itself first.

And up til now, four years later, I have found myself to still be able to say that ‘Dear John’ is the best love story I have ever read. Because unlike other romance stories I have read before, ‘Dear John’ explores the struggles of a relationship and that like in real life, most stories are not happy endings, just right ones.

This is the reason, The Silver Linings Playbook is a great story. There is no idealization of life and relationships, where in the hero or heroine finds true love; just a good solid reminder that true love doesn’t come without a lot of hardship and sacrifices.

PLOT:
The story is about Pat Peoples, a patient in a mental health facility, who is trying to recover to a state of well-being and hopefully end “apart-time”, the arbitrary period of separation between him and his wife. He tries to accomplish this by strictly adhering to an ritualistic series of (what his immediate company considers dysfunctional) habits to correct what he considers failures in his entire person. A few days upon his discharge however, he is introduced to Tiffany, who he finds to be a an obstacle to ending apart-time.

WHY YOU SHOULD READ IT:
Pat is trying, through out the course of the story, to keep a positive outlook to his problems, as some of us do when facing life’s tribulations, but every time he catches a break, disappointment is there to greet him. And thus the title of the book is justified, it is a playbook on Silver Linings, because as you go through Pat’s journey, you learn that a cloudless day is rare, and we need to wait for the sunshine to give us that silver lining.

read: 2014.07.15

One thought on “My Library | The Silver Linings Playbook – Matthew Quick

Leave a Reply

